Cooking fat that’s not vegetarian

Now we are looking on the crossword clue for: Cooking fat that’s not vegetarian.
it’s A 40 letters crossword puzzle definition.
Next time, try using the search term ” Cooking fat that’s not vegetarian crossword” or ” Cooking fat that’s not vegetarian crossword clue” when searching for help with your puzzle on the web. See the possible answers for Cooking fat that’s not vegetarian below.

Did you find what you needed?
We hope you did!. If you are still unsure with some definitions, don’t hesitate to search them here with our crossword puzzle solver.

Possible Answers:

Lard.

Last seen on: Daily Celebrity Crossword – 3/4/20 Wayback Wednesday


New Crossword clues and help App now available in the App Store and Google Play Store!
Crossword clues app Android Crossword clues app iphone iOs

Random information on the term ” Lard”:

Lardy cake, also known as lardy bread, lardy Johns, dough cake and fourses cake is a traditional rich spiced form of bread found in several southern counties of England, each claiming to provide the original recipe. It remains a popular weekend tea cake in the southern counties of England, including Sussex, Hampshire, Berkshire, Wiltshire, Dorset and Gloucestershire.

The main ingredients are freshly rendered lard, flour, sugar, spices, currants and raisins. Lardy cake can be eaten at any time of day as a snack, but is most commonly consumed in the afternoon with tea or coffee. Lardy cakes are very rich and sweet and eaten traditionally for special occasions, high days and holidays and harvest festivals.

The cake is made by layering thinly rolled dough with the other ingredients. As reported by the author Elizabeth David, a Hampshire cookbook advises that the cake be turned upside down after baking “so the lard can soak through.” It is theoretically possible to substitute butter for lard, but as Elizabeth David puts it: “How could they be Lardy cakes without lard?”

Lard on Wikipedia